This website uses cookies
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By continuing browsing we assume you accept the use of cookies. Find Out More


Edinburgh Medal

The 2015 Edinburgh Medal is awarded to Mary Midgley, one of the most important moral philosophers working today. Over the past thirty years, her writings have informed debates concerning animal rights, the environment and evolutionary theory. Mary was a senior lecturer in Philosophy at Newcastle University and wrote her first book, Beast and Man, when she was in her fifties. She has since published over fifteen books, including Animals and Why They Matter, Science and Salvation and Evolution as a Religion.

The Edinburgh Medal is a prestigious award given each year to men and women of science and technology whose professional achievements are judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding and well-being of humanity.

Mary will appear in three events celebrating her life and work at this year’s Science Festival, including a special in conversation event with leading environmentalist and originator of the Gaia theory, James Lovelock, at The Queen’s Hall.

Edinburgh Medal Address: Scientism on Tuesday 7 April

The Whispering Mind on Wednesday 8 April

Mary Midgley in Conversation with James Lovelock on Wednesday 8 April

Previous Recipients
2014 Prof Mary Abukutsa-Onyango
2013 Prof Peter Higgs and CERN
2012 Dr James Hansen
2011 Prof Carl Djerassi
2010 Sir Alex Jefferies
2009 Prof Jonathan Beckwith
2008 Prof Chris Rapley
2007 Dr Richard Horton
2006 Prof James Lovelock
2005 Prof Colin Blakemore
2004 Prof Steven Rose
2003 Prof Wang Sung
2002 Dr Lise Kingo
2001 Sir John Sulston
2000 Prof Lynn Margulis
1999 Prof Jocelyn Bell Burnell
1998 Sir David Attenborough
1997 Prof Amartya Sen
1996 Prof Richard Levins
1995 Sir John Crofton
1994 Prof Manuel Pattarroya
1993 Prof Wangari Maathai
1992 Prof Heinz Wolff
1991 Prof Jane Goodall
1990 Prof Stephen J Gould
1989 Prof Abdus Salam