This website uses cookies
We use cookies on our site to provide our online booking service, analytics and other functionality. Find out more about what cookies we use and how to disable them.

Accept Cookies

The Edinburgh Medal

The Edinburgh Medal was instituted by the City of Edinburgh Council in 1988. Each year this prestigious award is given to men and women of science and technology whose professional achievements are judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding and well-being of humanity. The Medalist then delivers a lecture at the Edinburgh Science Festival.

Edinburgh Medal 2021

Our 2021 Edinburgh Medal recipient is Heidi Larson, awarded in recognition of the role she has played in recognising the importance of popular and widespread misunderstandings of vaccines; approaching it with empathy and understanding, not condemnation, developing programmes and international organisation and networks to practically engage with communities to advance public health and social well-being.

Watch the Medal address here:

The 2020 Edinburgh Medal was awarded to environmentalist and political activist Sunita Narain for her major role in Indian and global environment and development policy formulation.

Previous Recipients

2020 Sunita Narain

2019 Christiana Figueres

2018 Prof Cordelia Fine

2017 Prof Peter Piot

2016 Kevin Govender and the IAU

2015 Mary Midgley

2014 Prof Mary Abukutsa-Onyango

2013 Prof Peter Higgs and CERN

2012 Dr James Hansen

2011 Prof Carl Djerassi

2010 Sir Alex Jefferies

2009 Prof Jonathan Beckwith

2008 Prof Chris Rapley

2007 Dr Richard Horton

2006 Prof James Lovelock

2005 Prof Colin Blakemore

2004 Prof Steven Rose

2003 Prof Wang Sung

2002 Dr Lise Kingo

2001 Sir John Sulston

2000 Prof Lynn Margulis

1999 Prof Jocelyn Bell Burnell

1998 Sir David Attenborough

1997 Prof Amartya Sen

1996 Prof Richard Levins

1995 Sir John Crofton

1994 Prof Manuel Pattarroya

1993 Prof Wangari Maathai

1992 Prof Heinz Wolff

1991 Prof Jane Goodall

1990 Prof Stephen J Gould

1989 Prof Abdus Salam