This website uses cookies
We use cookies on our site to provide our online booking service, analytics and other functionality. Find out more about what cookies we use and how to disable them.

Accept Cookies

The Edinburgh Medal

The Edinburgh Medal was instituted by the City of Edinburgh Council in 1988. Each year this prestigious award is given to men and women of science and technology whose professional achievements are judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding and well-being of humanity. The Medalist then delivers a lecture at the Edinburgh Science Festival.

Edinburgh Medal 2018

This year the 2018 Edinburgh Medal will be awarded to Prof Cordelia Fine, author and Professor of History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Melbourne, for her work on the understanding of gender stereotypes, challenging gender perceptions and for her contributions to public discourse to close the gender gap.

Click here to book tickets.

In 2017 the Edinburgh Medal was awarded to Prof Peter Piot, Director of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and a Professor of Global Health, for his joint work into the discovery of the Ebola virus and subsequent work to stop its spread and academic and scientific work focusing on AIDS and woman’s health in the developing world. 

Previous Recipients

2017 Prof Peter Piot
2016 Kevin Govender and the International Astronomical Union
2015 Mary Midgley
2014 Prof Mary Abukutsa-Onyango
2013 Prof Peter Higgs and CERN
2012 Dr James Hansen
2011 Prof Carl Djerassi
2010 Sir Alex Jefferies
2009 Prof Jonathan Beckwith
2008 Prof Chris Rapley
2007 Dr Richard Horton
2006 Prof James Lovelock
2005 Prof Colin Blakemore
2004 Prof Steven Rose
2003 Prof Wang Sung
2002 Dr Lise Kingo
2001 Sir John Sulston
2000 Prof Lynn Margulis
1999 Prof Jocelyn Bell Burnell
1998 Sir David Attenborough
1997 Prof Amartya Sen
1996 Prof Richard Levins
1995 Sir John Crofton
1994 Prof Manuel Pattarroya
1993 Prof Wangari Maathai
1992 Prof Heinz Wolff
1991 Prof Jane Goodall
1990 Prof Stephen J Gould
1989 Prof Abdus Salam